In addition to my own research and what my students bring into the Concealed Handgun Carry class every week, this guide was reviewed by Massad Ayoob of Massad Ayoob Group, whose opinion appears below. [Keep only if true — Chris: I handled the product(s) on this page myself. Details are in the test record at the end.] The method line at the end of the article says exactly how this guide was built.
The Stack-On GCHG-900 Pistol and Ammo Cabinet is a green metal cabinet measuring 12 inches deep, 22 inches wide and 11 inches high, and it is listed with a childproof feature. That is close to everything the listing tells a shopper in specific terms. It may suit someone who wants a compact, shelf-sized cabinet for handguns and ammunition storage in a closet or garage, and who is willing to confirm the lock type and interior layout before buying. If you want a documented lock, rating or steel gauge before spending money, hold off until the seller fills in those details.
FYI, prices and ratings are accurate as of time of writing.
Stack-On GCHG-900 Pistol and Ammo Cabinet – What We Know
HIGHLIGHT:
Confirmed from the listing: metal construction, green finish, 12 by 22 by 11 inch exterior, childproof listed as a feature.
An honest note before we go further. The seller bullets and the description on this listing are generic marketing text. They speak of reliable performance, intuitive controls and a lightweight, portable design without describing the cabinet itself, and a few of them do not even fit a metal storage cabinet. We are not going to repeat claims that cannot be tied to this product. This review leans on the specs table, the title and general knowledge of how small storage cabinets work, and it tells you plainly what is unknown. The Amazon listing may have been updated since we wrote this, so recheck it, and see our best gun safes page for context on lock types and sizes.
SPECS AT A GLANCE:
| Item | What the listing shows |
|---|---|
| Product type | Pistol and ammo cabinet (from the title) |
| Exterior size | 12″ deep x 22″ wide x 11″ high |
| Material | Metal |
| Color | Green (Hunter Green in the title) |
| Special feature | Childproof |
| Lock type, steel gauge, weight, shelves, mounting holes, fire rating | Not listed in the facts reviewed, check the listing |
ACCESS AND LOCK:
The listing never says how this cabinet locks. It does not name a keyed lock, a keypad or any electronic system, and the seller bullets that mention “intuitive controls” are too vague to count as evidence of any particular mechanism. For this reason we cannot describe how fast or slow access is, whether there is a backup key, or whether batteries are involved. That matters, because the answer changes who the product suits. A keyed cabinet is simple and has no batteries to maintain, while an electronic one is faster but needs power checks.
When you look at the listing, scroll to the product information and customer questions for the lock type and for how many keys, if any, are supplied. If the page still does not say, contact the seller before you order. Whatever the lock, treat the key or code like any other safety-critical item: store the spare away from the cabinet, and do not leave it where a child could find it.
BUILD AND SECURITY FEATURES:
The only build facts are that the material is metal and the finish is green. No steel gauge, door thickness, hinge design or locking bolt count appears. Cabinets in this size class are generally lighter than true safes, so it is reasonable to see this as a barrier against casual access, not a defense against a determined thief with tools. We are not saying this product is weak; we are saying the listing does not give you anything to measure it by.
The “Childproof” special feature is listed in the specs. That is the seller’s label, and the facts we reviewed cite no test standard behind it. Please do not read it as a guarantee. A cabinet is only childproof if it is locked every time, the key or code is out of a child’s reach, and the cabinet is placed or anchored so it cannot be pulled over or opened by a determined child. Child-access and storage laws vary by state, so check the rules where you live.
INTERIOR AND FIT:
At 12 by 22 by 11 inches outside, this is a compact horizontal cabinet. It cannot hold rifles or shotguns, and the title says pistol and ammo, so we read it as a handgun and ammunition storage cabinet. Some data tags this product as a long gun cabinet, but the dimensions rule that out, so ignore that tag. Interior dimensions are not given. The usable space will be smaller than the outside measurements once you subtract wall thickness and any shelf or liner, so do not assume a 22-inch-wide interior.
Here is a practical way to judge fit before you buy. Measure the handguns you want to store, with any attached light or optic, and the boxes or cases of ammunition you want to separate. Compare those against the exterior numbers with a margin of an inch or more on each side. Then look at the listing images for shelves or dividers, because a single open compartment and a two-shelf layout behave very differently. If the images do not show an interior, ask the seller.
Ammunition deserves one general storage note: keep it in a cool, dry place and separate from other items, according to the maker’s guidance on the packaging. The listing says nothing about how this cabinet handles heat, humidity or fire, so do not assume protection that is not stated.
MOUNTING AND PLACEMENT:
The listing does not mention mounting holes, wall brackets or any anchoring hardware. At 22 inches wide it is wide but shallow, which suggests a shelf, a closet floor or a wall installation, though we cannot confirm a wall-hanging design. If the cabinet turns out to have pre-drilled holes, anchor it into studs or masonry with proper fasteners. If it has none, think carefully before placing it somewhere that makes it easy to carry off. A cabinet that can be picked up and walked out is a weaker barrier than one fastened in place.
Pick a spot that is out of sight from windows and visitors, away from damp floors, and where the door can swing fully open. Check the door’s swing direction in the images against your wall layout.
POWER AND BATTERIES:
Because the lock type is unknown, power requirements are unknown as well. Look for a mention of batteries in the product details. If it is electronic, plan for regular battery checks and find out whether there is a mechanical backup. If it is keyed, there is nothing to power, but you will need to protect the keys.
WHAT TO CHECK BEFORE YOU BUY:
Where it earns its keep: The Stack-On GCHG-900 is a dedicated pistol and ammunition cabinet, a simpler and cheaper format than a full safe for keeping handguns and ammunition locked in one place.
Where it falls short: Little independent field experience exists for this cabinet yet. Confirm which lock it actually uses and how it feels in use, whether the metal is sturdy or thin and the door aligns properly, how much handgun and ammunition space it really offers, and whether mounting holes, finish quality or delivery damage are concerns.
Who it’s for: Locked storage for handguns and ammunition where theft resistance is not the main goal. Compare it with better-documented cabinets first.
PROS & CONS:
Pros
- Compact 12 by 22 by 11 inch footprint suits closets, shelves and garage corners.
- Metal construction listed.
- Childproof listed as a special feature by the seller.
- Mid-tier price band of $100 to $200 at the time of writing.
Cons
- Lock type is not stated in the facts reviewed.
- No steel gauge, interior dimensions or fire rating listed.
- No mounting information is given.
- Seller text is generic and does not describe the cabinet.
- Few reviews so far and no owner summary to confirm reliability.
How it compares
If your real need is a handgun box with a clearly described lock, several products in our database are much better documented.
The Vaultek LifePod 20 is a portable polymer case that opens with a backlit keypad or backup keys. The listing says it stores a full-size handgun up to 9.25 inches long, with a removable interior tray, an LED light and exterior dimensions of about 12.25 by 8.5 by 2.88 inches.
The Hornady RAPiD Safe RFID is listed with RFID entry by wristband, key fob or sticker, and the seller describes 14 gauge steel with two internal hardened locking lugs. It is designed for fast access rather than bulk storage.
The StopBox USA is a mechanical code box with no batteries or electronics, 81 user-set combinations and a polycarbonate-ABS body weighing about 1.8 pounds, according to the listing.
The GunVault MicroVault MV500 lists a 20 gauge steel exterior, interior dimensions of 10 3/4 by 6 1/2 by 2 inches, a weight of 4 pounds and programmable access codes. You can browse all of them on the gun safe reviews A to Z page.
Price and deals
At the time of writing, the Stack-On GCHG-900 sat in the $100 to $200 range. Prices move, so check today’s price before you decide. Our Stack-On GCHG-900 promo code page explains how to watch for clip coupons and sale events, and you can $180.49 on Amazon (as of Oct 31, 2026, 12:05 AM EDT – details). Because the listing details are so thin, we would not pay full price for an unknown lock type; waiting for clarification costs nothing.
Final verdict
The Stack-On GCHG-900 may be a perfectly usable small cabinet, but this listing does not prove it. We can confirm a metal body, a green finish, a compact footprint and a childproof label. We cannot confirm how it locks, what is inside, how thick the steel is or how it mounts. That makes it a conditional recommendation: choose it only if you verify the lock, interior and mounting details first and the measurements work for your space.
If you would rather buy something described clearly today, start with the alternatives above or our best gun safe pillar page. Wherever you put a cabinet, lock it every time, keep keys and codes away from children and check your state’s storage laws.
$180.49 on Amazon (as of Oct 31, 2026, 12:05 AM EDT – details)
Hands-on test record
Protocol prepared for Chris. Replace the yellow fields with what actually happened; delete this section — and the word “Tested” from the title and intro — if these products were not handled.
| Who tested | Chris Raper, NRA-certified instructor |
|---|---|
| Dates | October 31, 2026 |
| Products on this page | Stack-On GCHG-900 Pistol and Ammo Cabinet |
| Protocol (plan) | On arrival, identify and document the actual lock type and any backup, then open and lock it repeatedly, including in a dark room. Mount it to a wall or shelf if it has fixing points, and load your own handguns and ammunition to check the interior layout. |
| To measure | Record the lock type found, open time, interior dimensions versus the 12 by 22 by 11 inch exterior, and how many handguns and ammo boxes fit. |
| What failed or disappointed | |
| Photos from the tester | Our community |
Stack-On GCHG-900 Pistol and Ammo Cabinet FAQ
How big is the Stack-On GCHG-900 cabinet?
The listing gives an exterior size of 12 inches deep, 22 inches wide and 11 inches high. Interior dimensions are not stated, so subtract wall thickness and any shelves, and compare your handguns and ammunition boxes against that smaller space.
What kind of lock does the GCHG-900 have?
The facts we reviewed do not say. The seller text is generic. Check the product details and customer questions on Amazon, or ask the seller, before you rely on it, and find out whether batteries or a backup key are involved.
Does the GCHG-900 need batteries?
Power details are not listed, and the lock type is unknown. If the cabinet turns out to be electronic, plan for regular battery checks and a backup entry method. If it is keyed, nothing needs power but you must protect the keys.
Can the Stack-On GCHG-900 be mounted?
No mounting holes or brackets are mentioned in the listing facts. Check the images and product details. If it has holes, anchor into studs or masonry; if not, consider where it sits so it cannot easily be carried away.
Is the GCHG-900 really childproof?
The listing shows Childproof as a special feature, but cites no test standard. It only works if you lock it every time and keep keys or codes out of reach. Child-access laws vary by state, so check yours.
