Trending: Best Nightstand Gun Safes Best Gun Safes Under $100 Best Sight Pusher for Glock
We review the products on this page independently. When you buy through our links, we may earn an affiliate commission. Why trust us?

BlackSmith Rifle Safe Review: An NRA Instructor’s Take on the SF0106 Biometric Long Gun Cabinet — Reviewed by Chris Raper

Written by
Chris RaperChris Raper — Retired North Carolina law enforcement (40+ years) · U.S. Air Force Security Police · NRA-certified Pistol, Rifle & Shotgun Instructor · NC DOJ-certified Concealed Carry Instructor · Founder, Concealed Handgun Carry, Inc. (Elm City, NC, 2006)

This guide draws on my own research and what my students bring into the Concealed Handgun Carry class every week. The method line at the end of the article says exactly how this guide was built.

A lot of folks in my concealed carry class own a deer rifle, a shotgun and a carry pistol, and they’re storing all three in a closet behind a coat. When I tell them to lock the long guns up, the next question is always about money. A 600-pound fire safe isn’t in the budget, and it won’t fit in an apartment anyway.

That’s the shopper BlackSmith is selling to. BlackSmith is a budget brand of long-gun cabinets sold mainly through online marketplaces such as Amazon and Walmart, plus its own storefront. Its best-known models are fingerprint-and-keypad rifle cabinets for five or six long guns, and this review covers the 6-rifle SF0106 with notes on the 5-rifle SF0105.

My verdict: a reasonable budget cabinet for keeping long guns away from children and visitors, with a fingerprint reader, keypad, keys and a USB backup. Treat it as a locking cabinet, not a safe that will stop a burglar with tools, and read the listing carefully because BlackSmith’s specs live on store listings rather than a full manufacturer spec sheet.

FYI, specifications are taken from BlackSmith’s store listings at the time of writing and can change between listings.

How this review was made: research-based — manufacturer listing, manual and summarized owner feedback. We have not photographed or tested this model yet · How we review
How this review was built: from BlackSmith’s published listings for the SF0106 and SF0105, plus what I teach about home storage in my concealed carry classes. Hands-on test notes will be added to this page when they exist. How we review

BlackSmith SF0106 – Best Budget Biometric Rifle Cabinet

HIGHLIGHT:

Fingerprint, keypad, two ways of backup and an optional inner lockbox on a budget cabinet sized for six long guns.

WHO BLACKSMITH IS:

BlackSmith doesn’t publish a detailed spec sheet the way the big American safe companies do. What you get is what’s on the listing, and the listings for the same model don’t always say the same thing. That’s common with marketplace brands, and it isn’t a reason to skip one. It is a reason to read every line before you order and to save a copy of the listing you bought from.

The line includes keypad-only and biometric cabinets in three-, five- and six-rifle sizes. The two that come up most are the SF0106 (six rifles) and the SF0105 (five rifles), and they’re the ones I’ll stick to here.

ACCESS:

BlackSmith’s SF0106 listing describes four ways in: a fingerprint reader, a numeric keypad, spare keys and a micro-USB power port for when the batteries die. The listing names the sensor as a Swiss FPC fingerprint module at 160 by 160 pixels and 508 DPI, storing up to 30 prints, and claims a 0.1-second unlock. The SF0105 listing describes a fingerprint reader, a keypad code of four to ten digits and a physical key.

That 0.1-second number is a sensor spec, not how long it takes a scared person to get a rifle out of a cabinet in the dark. Speed comes from practice. Enroll the same finger several times at slightly different angles, enroll a finger on your other hand, and learn the keypad code well enough to run it without looking. If the print reader balks with a wet or cold finger, go straight to the keypad. I cover those habits in are biometric gun safes reliable.

And the key, same as I tell every class: one where you can reach it, one in a separate locked spot, and neither on top of the cabinet.

STEEL & BUILD:

BlackSmith’s listings describe the body as alloy steel. One 5-rifle listing names 16-gauge alloy steel, and the SF0106 listing I reviewed doesn’t state a gauge. Sixteen-gauge sheet steel is about 0.06 inch thick. That’s thinner than the 14-gauge used on many premium long-gun cabinets and far thinner than the plate on a heavy gun safe.

Here’s how I’d think about it. A cabinet like this keeps children, guests and the curious out, and it slows down a quick grab. It won’t hold up long against a pry bar and determination, and the listings make no pry, burglary or fire claims. Bolting it down closes much of that gap. Hiding it in a closet helps too.

INSIDE ROOM:

The SF0106 listing lays out two layouts. Without the lockbox: six rifles in two removable three-slot holders, five pistols in a five-slot holder and two more pistols in door pockets. With the lockbox installed: six rifles and two pistols in the pockets. So the lockbox trades away the pistol rack.

The SF0105 listing gives an outside of 14 by 13.4 by 57 inches and an inside of 13 by 12 by 56.2 inches. It lists five rifles with or without scopes and three handguns, one removable shelf, one separate lockable box, three door pistol pouches, an adjustable padded gun support and an LED light in the door jamb.

Rifle counts on any cabinet assume slim guns. Scopes, bipods and lights cut the real number. Measure your longest and widest long gun with everything on it, and compare against the inside dimensions, not the rifle count. Our sizing guide helps.

ALARM:

Several BlackSmith listing titles mention a dual alarm system, a password memory function and, on some versions, a silent mode. The listings I read don’t spell out what sets the alarm off, so check the manual. The usual triggers on cabinets like this are repeated wrong codes or failed prints and a hit to the door, but I wouldn’t assume which ones yours uses until you’ve read it.

An alarm on a cabinet in a closet mostly tells a kid that somebody will hear. That’s still worth having.

POWER:

The SF0105 listing calls for four AA batteries, not included. The SF0106 listing lists a micro-USB power option as a backup way in. Put fresh batteries in at setup, mark the date inside the door and change them on a schedule. Keep a USB cable and a power bank somewhere you can reach without opening the cabinet.

MOUNTING:

The SF0105 listing describes six pre-drilled holes in the back with six anchor bolts included. Tall, narrow cabinets tip, and a cabinet that isn’t anchored can be walked out the door. Bolt it to wall studs or the floor. On concrete, use concrete anchors rated for the job. Our guide on how to bolt down a gun safe covers each floor and wall type.

With children at home, storage is also a legal matter. North Carolina’s safe-storage law (G.S. 14-315.1) can make you liable if a minor gets hold of a loaded gun you left accessible and something happens with it. Other states have their own versions.

WHAT TO CHECK BEFORE YOU BUY:

Where it earns its keep: Fingerprint, keypad, keys and a micro-USB backup on a cabinet sized for five or six long guns, with an optional inner lockbox, door pockets, an LED and a padded gun support, at a budget price point.

Where it falls short: Light-gauge cabinet steel, no fire rating, no pry or burglary claims, and specs that live on listings and don’t always match from one listing to the next.

Who it’s for: Renters, apartment dwellers and first-time owners who need to lock a few long guns away from children and visitors and get to them quickly, without the weight or cost of a full safe.

WHAT TO WATCH:

Match the model number. BlackSmith sells several similar-looking cabinets, keypad-only and biometric, and listings get reused. Confirm SF0106 or SF0105 (or whichever model you want), the access methods, and whether the lockbox is included.

Look for the warranty terms before you buy. I didn’t find them stated on the listings I read. And don’t confuse a fast sensor with a secure safe. Our biometric gun safe recall page is a good reminder that cheap fingerprint locks need a working backup and a watchful owner.

WHO SHOULD BUY IT:

Buy a BlackSmith if you need quick-access storage for a handful of long guns on a budget, you’ll bolt it down, and you understand it’s a cabinet. Skip it if you want fire protection, heavy steel, or a brand with a full published spec sheet and a known warranty. For other choices in this class, compare the KAER 4-5 gun biometric rifle safe and my best rifle safe picks.

SPECS AT A GLANCE:

Spec SF0106 (6-rifle) SF0105 (5-rifle)
Outside size Not stated on the listing reviewed 14″ W x 13.4″ D x 57″ H
Inside size Not stated on the listing reviewed 13″ W x 12″ D x 56.2″ H
Long guns 6 (two 3-slot removable holders) 5, with or without scopes
Handguns 5-slot holder + 2 door pockets (2 pockets only with lockbox) 3 (door pouches)
Fingerprint FPC sensor, 508 DPI, up to 30 prints Yes (capacity not stated)
Other access Keypad, spare keys, micro-USB power Keypad (4–10 digit code), key
Steel Alloy steel (gauge not stated) 16-gauge alloy steel per one listing
Extras Optional lockbox Lockbox, removable shelf, LED, padded gun support
Power Batteries + micro-USB backup 4 AA (not included)
Mounting Not stated on the listing reviewed 6 pre-drilled holes, 6 anchor bolts
Fire rating None listed

PROS & CONS:

Pros

  • Fingerprint, keypad and key, plus a USB backup on the SF0106
  • Room for five or six long guns plus handguns
  • Optional lockbox for papers or valuables
  • Anchor holes and bolts listed on the SF0105

Cons

  • Light-gauge cabinet steel and no fire rating
  • Specs vary between listings; no full manufacturer spec sheet
  • Warranty terms not stated on the listings reviewed

Check today’s price on Amazon
Shopping by budget? See my best gun safe under $300 and best gun cabinet picks.

BlackSmith Safe FAQ

Is BlackSmith a good gun safe brand?

BlackSmith is a budget marketplace brand of long-gun cabinets. For keeping long guns away from children and visitors, a model like the SF0106 is a reasonable choice. It is not built or rated to resist fire or a determined burglar.

How many guns fit in the BlackSmith SF0106?

The listing says six rifles in two removable holders, plus five pistols in a slot holder and two in door pockets when the lockbox is out. Scoped rifles and accessories reduce the real count.

Is the BlackSmith rifle safe fireproof?

No fire rating is listed for the SF0106 or SF0105. If fire protection matters, use a fire-rated safe for papers and valuables.

What if the batteries die?

Use the spare keys, or power the lock through the micro-USB port on the SF0106 with a cable and a power bank. Keep both where you can reach them outside the cabinet.

Chris Raper
Founder & Lead Reviewer · NRA Certified Instructor · Retired NC Law Enforcement

Chris Raper

Chris Raper is the founder and lead reviewer of Conceal & Carry Network. A retired North Carolina law-enforcement officer with more than 40 years of service and a U.S. Air Force Security Police veteran, he founded Concealed Handgun Carry, Inc. in Elm City, NC in 2006 and has taught the state-approved NC Concealed Handgun Carry class there ever since. He is an NC Department of Justice certified Firearms Safety Instructor, an NRA Pistol, Rifle and Shotgun Instructor, an NRA Range Safety Officer and a graduate of Massad Ayoob's Lethal Force Institute. He reviews the carry guns, holsters, safes and sight tools his students ask about every week.

Concealed Handgun Carry, Inc. · Instructor qualifications